Phigaleia is located in Arcadia, one of the regions of the Peloponnese. The Roman geographer, Pausanias, wrote in detail about the temple of Apollo built in a place called Bassai on Mount Kotylion, near the town. He recorded that the temple was built by the community after they survived a plague between 429 and 427 BC. It is dedicated to Apollo, the “Helper”, who they believed had saved them, and also that the designer was Iktinos, one of the architects of the Parthenon. The temple is an important examp le of the architecture of the High Classical period of the late fifth century BC and has several unique, innovative features. One of these is the first appearan ce of the Corinthian column. All three column types – the Doric, the Ionic and the Corinthian – were used in the building: there is a Doric peripteros on the outside and Ionic columns in the interior of the cella, with the exception of one with a Corinthian capital opposite the entrance. The frieze depict ing the battle between the Amazons and the Centaurs ran around the interi or of the cella. The twenty-three frieze panels, which were removed from the temple in the early nineteenth century, were added to the treasures of the British Museum in 1820. The plaster copies of the frieze details dis played here were made after the marble originals, preserved in the British Museum.